tida's blog

Random Sauces From All Around The World

The Facebook

The Social Network

Have you ever watched this movie, The Social Network?  I love it! Though I do not love it as a movie. I like the story so much. Oh Mark Zuckerberg. I only heard about the issues, but looks like the problems behind the making of Facebook is true after all.

Who is Mark Zuckerberg?

Okay, first of all, do you know who is Mark Zuckerberg? If you do not know… well, it is the time for you to know one of the biggest man in the information technology for the last years. His website, Facebook, already has more than 500 million users registered on it. Amazing, isn’t it? And here is the tagline from the movie, “YOU DON’T GET TO 500 MILLION FRIENDS WITHOUT MAKING A FEW ENEMIES

I hope everybody who is reading this post has watched the show. I might write some spoilers here. I am very (always) interested at how geniuses do things. Their behaviors, habits, etc. I do not really know myself, but I just love it when I read or watch them. And this Mark Zuckerberg is definitely one of those geniuses.

What did he do?

The movie start by showing that Mark Zuckerberg is not what most girls want. After breaking up with his girlfriend, he badmouthed her ex-girl on his famous blog, which is read by people throughout the campus. A bit drunk, he started to gather all pictures of Harvard girls by breaking through all of the dorms databases and established a website called Facemash. It is a website where people offered with 2 girls and they get to choose which one is hotter. And then they will get a result generated by a program based on Zuckerberg’s friend’s algorithm. After that, his popularity skyrocketed and become infamous in just a few hours.

Mark And His Facebook

Being known as a godly-skilled programmer, a group of high-GPA-great-athleticism students, who had an idea of making a website for Harvard students to connect with each other, invited Mark to their group. And that is where the root of the problem lies. And long story short, he made a website on his own with the same idea of that group. And there is also a bit of problem with his best friend, Eduardo Saverin. I think Sean Parker has a lot to do with the problem with Mark and Eduardo. (Somehow I got lazy explaining the story. And I think it will be best if you see the movie by yourself 🙂 )

Don’t you get excited seeing things like this? The moments where a man can affect the whole world. Though I can not say if the Facebook is giving us a good or bad influence. But  there is one sure thing. “Damn! It’s addictive!”

Don’t you think so too? I used to open Facebook almost all day. Though now I have restricted myself from doing so. Very time consuming and unproductive. Though I love how it can bring people in the world together. Happy Facebook-ing!

PS: Facebook me!

3 comments on “The Facebook

  1. gnxmusic
    January 20, 2011

    Do you think it will win best picture? I have heard the King’s Speech is very good also. I can say the trailer really grabbed me though.

    • tida
      January 20, 2011

      Ah, I have never watched The King’s Speech too. But it sure does get a higher rating than The Social Network in IMDB.

  2. Pingback: @tidatweet « tida's blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2011 by in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other followers

Green Tea Cookies

