tida's blog

Random Sauces From All Around The World

Cannot Install from Ubuntu Software Center

So these last few days I have been trying to make myself comfortable using Ubuntu; though mostly are installing and updating things, which took a lot of time since my Internet connection is so slow. And then yesterday, while I was installing Wine (which was halfway done), I stopped the process and shut the system down. I thought it would only be like stopping an installation in Windows that I will just have to install it from the start again. But then my Ubuntu started to give out some error messages.

I cannot install anything anymore. Every time I want to install application from Ubuntu Software Center, my system printed out something like these messages.

An unhandled error occured
There seems to be a programming error in aptdaemon. This is the software that allows you to install/remove software and to perform other package management related tasks.
details

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/aptdaemon/worker.py”, line 968, in simulate
trans.unauthenticated = self._simulate_helper(trans)
File “/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/aptdaemon/worker.py”, line 1092, in _simulate_helper
return depends, self._cache.required_download, \
File “/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/apt/cache.py”, line 235, in required_download
pm.get_archives(fetcher, self._list, self._records)
SystemError: E:I wasn’t able to locate a file for the ubuntu-docs package. This might mean you need to manually fix this package.

I was so frustrated and almost gave up on using Ubuntu for daily usage, but then I found this page. At first I did not know what the failed installation of Wine was the cause of the system error, but then I saw the explanation and thought that the problem is the same, though the error code is a bit different. So then I decided to follow the best answer’s instructions. What is the solution? it was these three command line that helped me solved the problem.

sudo dpkg –configure -a
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade

After a series of downloading updates, my problem is fixed and I can install things again easily 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2012 by in Technology Stuffs and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Green Tea Cookies

