tida's blog

Random Sauces From All Around The World

One Thousand Single Days

One Thousand Single Days – http://onethousandsingledays.com/

One thousand single days, a blog written by a girl who decided to go through 1000 days being single. In her own words:

Hi there reader,

What do I mean when I say ’One thousand single days?’ I mean, one thousand days of being single. And by single I mean single in every sense of the word. No men, no dating, no flirting, no kisses, no love, no valentines day, no nothing. This is an experiment on my life: Deciding that for one time in my life, I am going to separate myself from that whole dirty, crazy, hectic love thing, and then observe what happens to me during that time. This is a choice. Until March 4, 2015, I am choosing to be alone. And what I choose to do with that time, I think, will define me later on. I intend to use this time to address some of the issues I have. For example, I am very stubborn, I think I am always right, I have no boundaries, I have shockingly low self esteem, I get jealous, I can get really, really angry….

I am going to explore all those issues publicly in the most candid way I possibly can, knowing many of you will also relate to something i just listed, and it can help to know you aren’t alone. But we mustn’t be content in living with these character flaws. We have one life, there should be no excuse to exit this life with the same disfunction we were born into. We have to address our weaknesses for the sake of others, but mostly, for the sake of ourselves. Like attracts like. Whole people, attract whole people.

I want to learn to be whole. I also feel (and correct me if I am wrong) that life at times seems to revolve around love-dating-men-women-sex-flirting-breakups-makeups-lovesongs-romantic comedies……. Is there a life outside of it all? Well, I intend to find out. If you have been feeling at a dead end, or broken, or bored with life, or there is something wrong and you can’t quite put your finger on it, why don’t you join me? Click on the link on the main page ‘How single days work’ and join the ever growing community of people from all around the world who have pledged a certain number of single days in response to this site, with the aim of using that time to transform their life and see goals and dreams become realities. Thank you for reading. I am one month into my 1000 single days, and my life has already been transformed. I am happier than I have ever been in my life. Join me.

Being alone for many people, sucks.  I get it, I get it, I get it.  But still I have to say that yes, my belief is that being with somebody who makes you feel crappy or doesn’t honor the person you are is worse.

Well… I guess this does not apply for forever alone people. Like, those who almost spend 25 years of their life being single. For them it has been about 9000 days of being single! Maybe there should be a “Ten Thousand Single Days”. Ehem. Anyway, for the likes of me who is probably trying to get out of the single status, it might be a little hard to imagine or understand the meaning of the blog. But I think the blog can be a good read for everybody.

5 comments on “One Thousand Single Days

  1. thaveann
    August 6, 2012

    “I want to learn to be whole. I also feel (and correct me if I am wrong) that life at times seems to revolve around love-dating-men-women-sex-flirting-breakups-makeups-lovesongs-romantic comedies……. Is there a life outside of it all? Well, I intend to find out.”

    so, she never had life outside those revolving thing? ouch.. my condolences

  2. janured
    October 16, 2012

    A sabbatical is food for the soul. You are on the correct path and will find the happiness you seek and also grow spiritually. All the best!

  3. roseythomaspalmer
    November 10, 2012

    I came to your fantastic blog because you came to mine. It is a challenge and an eyeopener. As a mature person I have been through the cold turkey of sudden and unexpected divorce via the determination to publish my book. It it a story of women’s overcoming. You can get it from Amazon by putting Hues of Blackness into the search engine. I’ve come out penniless but strong. I admire your courage. At a young age you are doing what I have had to do but voluntarily and successfully. Keep in there girl. The only person you will never live without is you and you seem to be just the person everyone needs beside them.

  4. Kate
    January 3, 2013

    i love your blog and heard your story on today tonight.I am in my thirties and I had been continuously single for more than seven years and was more happy and content than i had ever been. If i was lonely i went out and spent time with family and friends and i enjoyed time by myself, learning about myself and my habbits. People didn’t understand i just wasn’t looking and was happy and content that way, they JUST DIDN’T GET IT! !
    As i wasn’t looking or stressing about it i walked with open arms and a happy attitude into my current partner and we are happy together today :).

  5. Jon
    August 14, 2014

    Ive been single for 1500 days, im 25, good in most departments and I hate it. I just wish I could find someone who I would want to spend more than just a few years with, like most relationships. I dont like the idea of sleeping around, I know alot of my dude friends take pride in it but somehow when a girl does it shes a whore, whats the difference? I am not socially awkward or shy by any means, in fact I know alot of girls but have none of them to be someone I could see myself with when the hard times come. I am horribly alone but I guess its better than destroying people and relationships because I care more about what I feel. I guess im weird by today’s standard and 50 years ago I wouldve fit in to society better but now I see myself ranting on that nobody will read anyway. Im just sick of the way people treat each other.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 20, 2012 by in Daily Life and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Green Tea Cookies

